How To Upgrade Amcrest / Lorex to Dahua Firmware And Get All Dahua Features

Eagle29

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 29, 2019
Messages
37
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Well for anyone that has the IP8M-2496 cameras (the ones that are always on Amazon deals), I went ahead and tried this and can confirm that BINGO......IT WORKS ! Now have IVS on these cams. I will let you know that I did have to upgrade the Amcrest to the latest first then go ahead and upgrade to the Dahua. Also it does keep your old password so don't worry that you are not prompted to setup new. The old firmware upgrade screen looked different but the new one looked very similar to the Dahua upgrade screens we are used to so knew it was looking good.

Face Detection and IVS supported on this one. SmartIR & up to 40960 bitrate, should you ever need that :) hahahah

Also of note is this does unlock a 3rd stream where this cam is usually limited to 2.

Now all I have to do is find the latest Lorex LNB9232 FW and I'll try flashing those old ones as well :)
Which Dahua firmware did you used for Amcrest IP8M-2496E?
 

joenasa

n3wb
Joined
Jul 17, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Colorado
I have Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW-28MM, but when I tried upgrading to the Dahua firmware "DH_IPC-HX25(8)XX-Molec_MultiLang_NP_V2.800.0000000.19.R.200628.bin" it reports back that it failed in the webGUI. Also, when I try to use the (IP) Config Tool, the progress goes to 50% and then the camera reboots.

However, I was able to update the firmware to another AmCrest (Amcrest_IPC-HX25(8)XX-Molec_Eng_N_AMCREST_V2.800.00AC001.0.R.201230.bin).

I have tried TFTP (trivial file transfer protocol) from the ipcamtalk download page and also what is native to Windows XP. Nothing seems to be working.

I'm not computer illiterate. Would like some assistance, if anyone might be able to lend a hand.
Hi! Did you end up getting it working? I just bought one and would really appreciate if you would show me the way. Thank you!!
 

joenasa

n3wb
Joined
Jul 17, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Colorado
Hello All, having some trouble flashing my Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW-28MM to Dahua fw. I've pulled down both DH_IPC-HX25(8)XX-Molec_MultiLang_NP_V2.800.0000000.19.R.200628.bin and DH_IPC-HX25(8)XX-Molec_MultiLang_NP_V2.820.0000000.28.R.210323.bin but both begin uploading, filling in a progress bar block or two, then errors out and reboots.
View attachment 90838
View attachment 90839

I'm beginning from this firmware
View attachment 90840

I am logged in as admin.
The URL dump shows:
Code:
appAutoStart=true
deviceType=IP5M-T1179E
hardwareVersion=1.00
processor=SSC328Q
serialNumber=AMC06070XXXXXXXXXX
updateSerial=IPC-HDW2531TP-AS
updateSerialCloudUpgrade=IPC-HDW2531TP-AS..... and so on
When I crack open the check.img file for both versions "IPC-HDW2531TP-AS" is listed.
I've tried uploading only through the browser, from multiple computers, within the same vlan and off-vlan.... nothing uploads. I have a TFTP server if there is a way to get it to pull from there.
Hi! Did you end up getting the Dahua firmware working? Which version was it that finally worked? Thank you so much
 

bugmenot01

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Messages
44
Reaction score
6
Hi! Did you end up getting the Dahua firmware working? Which version was it that finally worked? Thank you so much
Read earlier posts. You need to first downgrade the Amcrest firmware and then you'll be able to upgrade to the Dahua version. I've done it an I'm on version DH_IPC-HX25(8)XX-Molec_MultiLang_NP_V2.800.0000000.19.R.200628 .
 

Scooby7274

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
164
Reaction score
56
Location
NC
Just did this to a IP8M-T2499EW and everything went smooth. All options are there. I still have the Amcrest on the page?

Edit:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Alberta, Canada
I just installed DH_NVR4XXX-4KS2_MultiLang_V4.001.0000005.1.R.210713 on my Amcrest NV4116-HS and it works great.

After upgrading to the latest Amcrest firmware, all my cameras stopped working with the manufacturer set as Private. I got them working by changing them to Onvif, but then motion detection stopped working. After installing the Dahua firmware, everything works again as expected.
 
Top