Hole size of poe camera

tane

n3wb
Reaction score
Newbie here doing research. Looking to install a couple outdoor bullet cameras. Looking at the cameras, it looks like I have to drill a 1/2 inch to 1 inch hole to fit the connectors through. Is it possible to just drill a smaller hole to just fit the Cat 5 cable through and terminate it at the camera? This way, much smaller hole ( as I have a brick exterior wall ).

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Sure, as long as you are comfortable terminating the cable on a ladder.

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Is fine but what are you going to do with the connector? It might look waterproof but it's not.

hook3m

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Use a junction box like the one here only without the conduit. Drill a small hole through the brick just big enough for the Cat5 and terminate everything in the junction box.

20160318_182444_zpst3fj2frp.jpg

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Junction boxes are great for this. I bought the ones made for the HK Turrets (smaller round boxes you get at Lowes were too small) it everything fits nicely up inside.

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
If the Cat5 line comes thru the brick, it won't have the conduit that you see. It'll just be the junction box itself. This picture came thru the attic and eave so your comparing two different things.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Kawboy12R

Known around here
Reaction score