Hikvision NVR POE not detecting my cameras

tonie

n3wb
Reaction score
My Hikvision DS-7716N-E4/16P is not detecting two of my DS-2CD2032F-I cameras. I'm a noob at this and I've tried to google but no avail. The SADP tool is able to detect my NVR but not the cameras. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Suggestion to try:
On the assumption that the PoE ports IP addresses are in the usual range of 192.168.254.xxx
In the NVR web GUI, pick the 2 channels that the missing cameras are connected to, and with the Modify button, change the mode of the channel to 'Manual' instead of 'Plug and Play'. Enter the camera password, leave other settings unchanged. Note down the IP address of each of the 2 PoE channels.
Connect your PC Ethernet cable to a spare PoE port on the NVR. You don't need to change the PC IP address.
Used SADP to find the missing cameras and set their IP address to that of the PoE port that they are connected to.
At that point - the cameras should be visible in Live View, and available to configure.

tonie

n3wb
Reaction score
Connect your PC Ethernet cable to a spare PoE port on the NVR. You don't need to change the PC IP address.
Used SADP to find the missing cameras and set their IP address to that of the PoE port that they are connected to.
At that point - the cameras should be visible in Live View, and available to configure.
the seller tech was able to help me out. I didn't expect buying it from china would get this kind of service but the walked though me step by step which was great.

What you said did the trick but I wouldn't understand it because it doesn't make sense to me and until the tech did it.

1) Connect the main lan port from nvr to the router.
2) Connect ethernet to camera and to nvr poe port
3) Connect another ethernet to the nvr poe port and to router (this will allow the nvr to detect the camera and it will not detect it if you don't do this)