High CPU usage running 4 cameras

Sachi

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Just though you might have some suggestions or advice on my CPU usage.

So I am a noob (big) just setting up my cameras & BI, I have 2 x4MP Dahua's, 1 x 2MP Dahua & a 5MP Reolink Doorbell with 100% CPU usage.
System is a Dell Optiplex i5-6500 CPU 3.2Ghz with 8GB of Ram running Windows 10, SSD C drive with Purple HDD for recordings & M.2 database drive.
Blue Iris v5.5.1.20 from 2021 (Will update once I have system setup)
All cameras set to direst to disk recording, Frame rates set to 15, Scaling set to fast,
camera embedded timestamp, Encoder preset set to superfast.

CPU Usage with individual cameras enabled & disables:

All cameras disabled CPU 1%
5MB Reolink doorbell camera 30%
4MB Dahua 20%
4MB Dahua 30-40%
2MB Dahua 40-50%
All cameras enabled CPU 100%

I changed the Limit live preview rate changed from 30fps to 5fps and CPU is now running at 60-70%, so that helped a lot.
Looking to add another 2 cameras for total of 6. Maybe my hardware is just not good enough,

1708487424243.png1708487653731.png

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Are you using substreams?

That PC is more than adequate - people run 50 cameras on a 4th gen at sub 40%, so you certainly have something going on. Either not running substreams or didn't exclude BI from antivirus or you have defragment or indexing turned on.

Sachi

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Yes all Dahua cameras have substream enabled, not sure about the Reolink doorbell?
I think I have the exclusions set correctly, BI exe File & BI folders, I just added S & Z drives which are the Purple recording drive & the M.2 database drive.

I will check the defrag & indexing settings,
Thanks
1708488739073.png

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The substreams may be enabled in the cameras but did you enable them in BI?

By default BI doesn't pull the substreams. You have to manually select them.

Sachi

Getting the hang of it