Hi from the Inland Empire in Southern California

StevesWeb

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello folks,

I'm a noob to Blue Iris software, and very favorably impressed, but I'm an old hand at geeking around with computers. I build my own websites and my own web servers, and have a web hosting hobby that appears to resemble a web hosting business.

True story: In 1978 I was doing field upgrades of Teletype machines to 300 bit per second modems. The original modems were rated at 0~110 bps.

More recently I built a pair of solar powered IP webcams using Raspberry Pi computers. We need a remote camera to be able to see our driveway gate from the house, the gate is down the hill and around a bend.

For years I settled for a highly unreliable freeware webcam package, switching to Blue Iris has been an enormous relief. I'm very impressed. Blue Iris is doing a fantastic job of recognizing and recording people and cars with a minimum of tress blowing around triggering detection, and this is out of the box with no tweaking. Clearly this is very well thought out software.

You can call me Steve.

Here is my home made webcam installation.

Attachments

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
So, inside those camera enclosures are raspberry pi + camera modules?

How did you get the network back to the house? Or is this a standalone system that requires you to plug in to pull video?

Very nice looking setup, by the way. Smaller than I expected for a suitable battery.

StevesWeb

n3wb
Reaction score
So, inside those camera enclosures are raspberry pi + camera modules?

How did you get the network back to the house? Or is this a standalone system that requires you to plug in to pull video?