Help needed

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,982
Reaction score
16,585
The image you posted is of the power supply and does not tell us anything about the system itself. If all the cameras started doing that at the same time its likely a power supply issue or some newly introduced interference.
 

ally13

n3wb
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Massachusetts
The image you posted is of the power supply and does not tell us anything about the system itself. If all the cameras started doing that at the same time its likely a power supply issue or some newly introduced interference.
Hi I actually posted a video of what the cameras are doing. It is a 16 ch NVR/DVR -

Evtevision 5MP Lite(5M-N) 16Channel Hybrid 5-in-1 Surveillance DVR Recorder,DVR NVR System.
I will repost the video. I currently have 12 cameras hooked up (two are PTZ cameras) one PTZ camera has stopped working but I do not think it would cause all cameras to glitch like this. Thoughts?
 

Attachments

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,982
Reaction score
16,585
Hi I actually posted a video of what the cameras are doing. It is a 16 ch NVR/DVR -

Evtevision 5MP Lite(5M-N) 16Channel Hybrid 5-in-1 Surveillance DVR Recorder,DVR NVR System.
I will repost the video. I currently have 12 cameras hooked up (two are PTZ cameras) one PTZ camera has stopped working but I do not think it would cause all cameras to glitch like this. Thoughts?
Yes you did. Still tells us nothing about your system - that is why you needed to post the make and model. Did you make any recent changes? Did they all start acting like this simultaneously
 

ally13

n3wb
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Massachusetts
Yes you did. Still tells us nothing about your system - that is why you needed to post the make and model. Did you make any recent changes? Did they all start acting like this simultaneously
Well, I’m new here, so I apologize. I have had 3 DVR’s and all were very similar. I didn’t think they varied much. All worked fine this morning, I left for work and came home to this 8 hrs later. So, to answer your question I can only assume that this started simultaneously. It’s still doing it. I’m kind of assuming it’s the DVR but before I go and pay $300 for a new one, I thought I’d see if anyone has seen this (maybe) before.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
9,909
Reaction score
19,094
Location
Alabama
I’m kind of assuming it’s the DVR but before I go and pay $300 for a new one, I thought I’d see if anyone has seen this (maybe) before.
I'm with @fenderman thinking that the power supply has issues since it's common to all cams which are being powered by it.

It appears that you're close to it's max # of cams to be supported and since 2 are PTZ's (and one stopped working) have you calculated the total wattage consumed, including the IR's at night?

Switching type power supplies often rely on 1 or more large filter caps since they're not linear and can loose their ability to do their job after a recent power outage. Allowing some AC into the DC output can wreak havoc on the cams and their displayed images.

EDIT: Is the power supply's fan still working? Not sure how well that PSU can cool itself at max load with the door shut.
 
Last edited:

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
10,338
Reaction score
25,428
Location
Florida USA
I’ve seen similar with an analog (dvr) system. Power supply and/or cabling likely.

I had a small 8 camera dvr setup that went boinkers like that due to old exposed cable that had deteriorated on one camera, moisture I think. Not smart enough to tell you the actual electrical dynamics but analog systems are VERY susceptible to going haywire with power/ground loop issues
 

SpacemanSpiff

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
665
Reaction score
868
Location
USA
Any recent thunder storms in your area? Does your neighborhood experience brownouts, or other symptoms of dirty power? These could contribute to the suspected issues with your power supply.

... So, to answer your question I can only assume that this started simultaneously. It’s still doing it.
...
Consider reviewing DVR footage. It might reveal when the issues started, and whether all cameras exhibited the issues simultaneously.
 

ally13

n3wb
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Massachusetts
I'm with @fenderman thinking that the power supply has issues since it's common to all cams which are being powered by it.

It appears that you're close to it's max # of cams to be supported and since 2 are PTZ's (and one stopped working) have you calculated the total wattage consumed, including the IR's at night?

Switching type power supplies often rely on 1 or more large filter caps since they're not linear and can loose their ability to do their job after a recent power outage. Allowing some AC into the DC output can wreak havoc on the cams and their displayed images.

EDIT: Is the power supply's fan still working? Not sure how well that PSU can cool itself at max load with the door shut.
Thank you as well for the input. There was a power outage last Tuesday.
Cameras were ok after that and then this started yesterday while I was at work.

I should clarify that the PTZ cameras are on their own power supply ac/dc adapters on a peer strip. Others are all on the electric box power
When I turn of the electric box off, only one of the PTZ cameras is holding steady. Other is still flickering on and off so I’m not sure it’s the electric box.
I had ground loop isolators on the PTZ’s prior to putting them on their own power supply, I was told not necessary if on own ac/dc. Not sure if that was wrong information.
The Fan is still running, the door is usually open.. (I closed it to take the pic). Although does look a little dusty in there.
 

SpacemanSpiff

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
665
Reaction score
868
Location
USA
Do you have a compatible monitor around to connect the cable directly from the camera and view the feed?
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
9,909
Reaction score
19,094
Location
Alabama
Thank you as well for the input. There was a power outage last Tuesday.
Cameras were ok after that and then this started yesterday while I was at work.

I should clarify that the PTZ cameras are on their own power supply ac/dc adapters on a peer strip. Others are all on the electric box power
Now I'm VERY suspicious of that 18 ch. power supply.
Do you have another 12VDC wall wart power supply of adequate wattage to try a "misbehaving" cam on after disconnecting it from the big power supply?
 

ally13

n3wb
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Massachusetts
Now I'm VERY suspicious of that 18 ch. power supply.
Do you have another 12VDC wall wart power supply of adequate wattage to try a "misbehaving" cam on after disconnecting it from the big power supply?
I just disconnected all the cameras that were powered by that supply box and added them to the pigtail wires that originally came with the DVR.. I was hoping it was just the electric supply causing the issue but it’s still doing it, even without the power box. I have a warranty on the DVR so I’m going to try to just replace that, along with a new power supply box (just in case) and hopefully that will resolve everything. Just a pain to re-program it all over again. I was really hoping it was an easy fix. I do thank you all for your input and help. I is greatly appreciated.
 
Top