Hello and About 4 Channel Hikvision NVR Disc Support

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Greetings to all from Turkey. I work as an engineer in the electronic security department of a state bank.

Friends, in some departments, the obligation to keep the image times for one year has been introduced. We are currently using 4 channel Hikvision DS-7104NI-Q1/4P/MT NVRs in these regions. There are 6TB discs in the units. Do these units support 10TB discs? KY2017-5 is written on the processor inside the device. Can we understand what this processor is? Otherwise 1200 NVRs will be rubbish. I am waiting for your ideas and help, thank you very much.

steve1225

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
This is a toy NVR. Latest revision (D) in HIK spec have max 6TB.

Best solution is simply take one NVR, upgrade to latest available firmware and check bigger hard drive sizes.
Sometimes they work sometimes not.
HIK have hundreds of different models of NVR's. No one will check that for You.

ps. there is no electric/connector/protocol difference between 6, 10 or 20 TB SATA hard drives.. this is only software limit.

ps2. for retention of one year for 4 cameras You need something much bigger that one 10 TB hard drive..

Reaction score
This is a toy NVR. Latest revision (D) in HIK spec have max 6TB.

Best solution is simply take one NVR, upgrade to latest available firmware and check bigger hard drive sizes.
Sometimes they work sometimes not.
HIK have hundreds of different models of NVR's. No one will check that for You.

ps. there is no electric/connector/protocol difference between 6, 10 or 20 TB SATA hard drives.. this is only software limit.
Thank you very much. So how can I access the processor and RAM information on this device, using which program?

Reaction score
Hikvision's representative in Turkey claims that these units will not support 10TB in any way, but they refuse to provide any technical justification. I think their goal is to sell another 1200 units.

steve1225