Cobra DVR stuck System Initializing

trig

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I connected a monitor to my system and I get this ! System Initializing ! and it stays there. I have not checked this system in the last month or two. I hear hard driver spinning. I disconnected all cameras also and it still has this problem. This is a cheaper Cobra system I bought at Harbor Freight 24 months ago for my shop but it has always worked until now. Anyway to tell what the problem might be. Motherboard maybe ? I am a computer tech but never worked one of these systems. It also does the same thing with hard driver cables disconnected. I put the hard drive in my desktop using the DVD drive cables and it shows up but of course I can't read anything and got prompted to format which of course I didn't do. Thoughts ?? thanks for any help.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Sounds like the little memory on the motherboard that hosts the firmware is shot. Probably cheaper to replace than to repair.

trig

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Sounds like the little memory on the motherboard that hosts the firmware is shot. Probably cheaper to replace than to repair.
Thanks, I was thinking it was someone on the board. Probably couldn't find a replacement board for what I just could buy another system. I appreciate your reply.

SpacemanSpiff

Known around here
Reaction score
Won't hurt to try disconnecting the HDD (data and power) and power up.

trig

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I had tried that earlier today and same thing. I was just hoping there was a flash that I could do to get it back working but it was wishful thinking lol
If one of these systems was powered up using a monitor and hard drive disconnected would I get to a screen ? like in system setup in a PC ?