Can we receive alarms/view videos remotely when camaras are not connected to the internet?

Mynghan

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a noob, reading chats so i can get the get the correct nvr/cameras set up for our home..

I have read recommendations to not connect cameras / nvr to the internet to avoid hacking. If we do this, does this mean one cannot receive alert/notifications or view captured footage remotely? Or is there a safe way to do this without exposing the cctv system to hacking risks ? Thank you.

Gilbert / Mynghan

VideoDad

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a noob, reading chats so i can get the get the correct nvr/cameras set up for our home..

I have read recommendations to not connect cameras / nvr to the internet to avoid hacking. If we do this, does this mean one cannot receive alert/notifications or view captured footage remotely? Or is there a safe way to do this without exposing the cctv system to hacking risks ? Thank you.

Gilbert / Mynghan
The short answer is you secure your cameras so they don't have any access in/out to the Internet. Then you have your NVR with secure access in for viewing videos.

The Wiki has a great article on this:

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Typically the NVR will need internet access in order to facilitate sending alerts. It is taken for granted by many of us that a Chinese NVR is just as vulnerable, just as likely to contain backdoors or spyware, as a Chinese camera. But at some point you need to accept some risk if you want to use the internet.

There are a few ways a very tech-literate person could get alerts sent without giving cameras or the NVR access to the whole internet. For example if you only cared about email alerts, you could let the NVR use a local SMTP server or SMTP relay but otherwise block the internet.