Can the cameras connected to BI be on their own LAN coming off of the BI computer?

loglobal

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I am not a networking expert, but I am slowly learning. Is there any way to separate the LAN of Blue Iris cameras from the rest of the office LAN? In other words, can the switch that connects to all of the cameras go into one LAN port on the BI computer, and then the port from an additional NIC on the BI computer go into the main network? I would REALLY like to separate the two for security and bandwidth reasons. We would still like to be able to access the BI computer locally via RDP, but it is not necessary to be able to access the individual cameras' configuration interfaces from the main LAN.

rotorwash

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Re: Can the cameras connected to BI be on their own LAN coming off of the BI computer

I am not a networking expert, but I am slowly learning. Is there any way to separate the LAN of Blue Iris cameras from the rest of the office LAN? In other words, can the switch that connects to all of the cameras go into one LAN port on the BI computer, and then the port from an additional NIC on the BI computer go into the main network? I would REALLY like to separate the two for security and bandwidth reasons. We would still like to be able to access the BI computer locally via RDP, but it is not necessary to be able to access the individual cameras' configuration interfaces from the main LAN.
It should. People dual-home servers all the time. If you are going to use the camera to encode the date/time into the stream, you are going to want to make sure the cameras have a way to get to an NTP server so their times are in sync. Also, you will have to hard code IP addresses into cameras instead of using DHCP.

Brad_C

Banned
Reaction score
Re: Can the cameras connected to BI be on their own LAN coming off of the BI computer

Also, you will have to hard code IP addresses into cameras instead of using DHCP.