Camera sensor specs comparison and shipping cameras to Europe

oaktreer

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I want to buy some cameras to install in my house. I have no experience with cameras, so any help will be greatly appreciated. The image below shows the house layout. The image shows 4 cameras, but I will probably buy 6...
At night, the street in front of the house have some light and I will install some ground led lights like this.
I've read some guide posts here on the forum and, based on the feedback, I will probably buy some 4Mp 1/1.8" camera, with a mix of 2.8mm and 3.6mm.

I have some questions I would like to ask:

- If a camera sensor have the same specs, will there be a big difference in image/video quality? For example, comparing IPC-T5442TM-AS with SF-IPT838CWHA-4U-AI2 (I understand that this camera is probably not well know, but it is a camera I can buy in stores in my country and that's why I'm comparing these two cameras) they are very similar sensor wise. What other features should I look when comparing cameras? I'm interested in features that can make the image/video quality better.

-I will probably buy the IPC-T5442TM-AS that is sold at the forum store (they appear to be a good all-around camera). From where are they shipped? What's the feedback/experience of sending them to Europe (Portugal)? Someone with experience in this situation? My understanding is that I will need to pay extra custom fees. If that's the case, can this value be estimated?

-At the price range of around 160$, is there a better alternative to IPC-T5442TM-AS?

-I understand that this is a forum for security cameras, but since it is a question related to security I will ask anyway - I need to buy an intruder alarm system. Any pointer on what characteristics or brands I should be looking for?

Thank you all for the feedback.

Attachments

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score