Blue Iris UI3

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
I loaded v 262, but no extra button appears:( (yes, v 262 shows in my normal browser, so update was ok.)... I'm afraid the samsung browser is just messed up! Thanks for trying! (btw, everything after "loading h264 player" is also "busy", not "OK", if that matters.View attachment 179593
Yeah the browser is messing up in a number of ways that wouldn't be fixed even if you could change the H.264 player. A lot of the CSS is not loading. None of the API communication to Blue Iris is finishing. There are no apparent error toast messages appearing. I would suggest clearing the browser cache (if you can) and try again, but that is a long shot.

Other than that, there are some older web interfaces you could try if you want. jpegpull.htm is one of Blue Iris's original web interface pages and it is very primitive and may work where nothing else does.

For something a little more advanced, you can download my UI2 interface (it is what I was working on before UI3). GitHub - bp2008/ui2: A custom web interface for Blue Iris Video Security Software
ui2.htm doesn't use nearly as many advanced web features, so it is more likely to work in an old browser. The UI2 zip file also comes with jpegpull2.htm and allcams.htm which are even older.
 

rdxny

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 15, 2022
Messages
154
Reaction score
102
Location
ny
Yeah the browser is messing up in a number of ways that wouldn't be fixed even if you could change the H.264 player. A lot of the CSS is not loading. None of the API communication to Blue Iris is finishing. There are no apparent error toast messages appearing. I would suggest clearing the browser cache (if you can) and try again, but that is a long shot.

Other than that, there are some older web interfaces you could try if you want. jpegpull.htm is one of Blue Iris's original web interface pages and it is very primitive and may work where nothing else does.

For something a little more advanced, you can download my UI2 interface (it is what I was working on before UI3). GitHub - bp2008/ui2: A custom web interface for Blue Iris Video Security Software
ui2.htm doesn't use nearly as many advanced web features, so it is more likely to work in an old browser. The UI2 zip file also comes with jpegpull2.htm and allcams.htm which are even older.
Thanks, I may try some of this later but also possible I will give up on this project... just another excuse to get a more modern TV :) I appreciate the attempt (UI3 works great on all the other desktops, phones, and tabs, that I have used)
 

Jake1979

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
186
Reaction score
55
Location
NH, USA
Blue Iris Web Interface - favicon / MacOS Save to Dock

I've noticed that the favicons are pretty low resolution. I'd like to help out some how on this if possible. If I could get a hold of a clear, high resolution image of the logo, we could make the code so that the icon is large and clear on retina screens and the new Safari "Save to Dock" feature so that the icon looks really sharp. I found this thread on fixing the Save to Dock icon.

Is this something that you would be interested in @bp2008 ? If so, how do we get a higher quality image? The best I could gather is from the help file but getting the original SVG or PSD would be beneficial. icon_BI-UI.png
 
Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
@Jake1979

The original source of the icon I have is this (503x503 resolution): ui3/ui3/icons-src/logosrc.png at 262 · bp2008/ui3

I don't remember exactly where it came from, but probably from the BI developer. I also enlarged the image with a variety of AI tools. None is perfect but the one I liked best is here (2012x2012): ui3/ui3/icons-src/logosrc_ai.png at 262 · bp2008/ui3

But neither of those files is referenced directly by UI3.

Can you tell exactly which image file MacOS is using?

Probably one of these...

favicon.ico is the old logo. It looks like this:
1702050577554.png

The first icon declared in ui3's manifest.json file is 128px, webp format:
But the first "png" version in manifest.json is 48px:
Meanwhile the icon specified by the <link rel="apple-touch-icon" html element is 192px:
UI3's manifest.json file (in the applet subidrectory) refers to many different versions of the image. If you move one of the later references to the top of the icons array (taking care not to break the json syntax), does that make MacOS choose it?
 

Jake1979

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
186
Reaction score
55
Location
NH, USA
I've attached a screen shot of the web app in the dock here.

When I browse to where the app is located in Finder (/Users/username/Applications/NVR UI3.app/Contents), in the resources folder is a fie name ApplicationIcon.icns. I've attached that as well. It looks like it could be the 128px.Screenshot 2023-12-08 at 7.37.08 PM.png Screenshot 2023-12-08 at 7.41.01 PM.png

When I edit C:\Program Files\Blue Iris 5\www\ui3\manifest.json: I made this change: (that logo is in the logos folder)
Code:
{
    "short_name": "UI3",
    "name": "Blue Iris UI3",
    "icons": [
        {
            "src": "logos/logosrc_ai.png",
            "sizes": "any",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon144.webp",
            "sizes": "144x144",
            "type": "image/webp"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon168.webp",
            "sizes": "168x168",
            "type": "image/webp"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon192.webp",
            "sizes": "192x192",
            "type": "image/webp"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon48.png",
            "sizes": "48x48",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon72.png",
            "sizes": "72x72",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon96.png",
            "sizes": "96x96",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon128.png",
            "sizes": "128x128",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon144.png",
            "sizes": "144x144",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "logos/launcher-icon168.png",
            "sizes": "168x168",
            "type": "image/png"
        },
        {
            "src": "launcher-icon.png",
            "sizes": "192x192",
            "type": "image/png"
        }
    ],
    "display": "standalone",
    "orientation": "any"
}
Safari does not pick the largest file. I wonder if it's picking the favicon file and converting it to icns? It's the same size.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
Safari does not pick the largest file. I wonder if it's picking the favicon file and converting it to icns? It's the same size.
As noted earlier, favicon.ico is a very different, older logo (UI3 doesn't provide it either; it is stock Blue Iris). Or is yours different?

1702137647760.png

I agree a conversion is likely happening. The file size in your screenshot does not closely match any of the UI3-provided image files. Also UI3's smallest logo is 48px and your screenshot appears to show substantially lower resolution than that.

UI3's manifest.json location and content has changed in more recent versions, and is now located in the /applet/ subfolder instead of the /ui3/ subfolder (but you'll still find a defunct copy in the ui3 folder after updating). This was done because Blue Iris's web server will deliver files from /applet/ without requiring a session, and this was necessary for proper progressive web app installation. So there may be a beneficial effect if you update UI3 (but I doubt it).
 

Jake1979

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
186
Reaction score
55
Location
NH, USA
I Just made the same changes to the applet folder, same, low res icon. The favicon.ico in my www folder is not the flower icon.
Screenshot 2023-12-09 at 2.27.10 PM.png

I replaced the low res favicon with the largest ico file I could make which was 256 and it still looks the same.
Screenshot 2023-12-09 at 2.28.51 PM.png

Let me know if there's anything else that I can try.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
I suspect you could replace the image file on your mac after apple produces it. The only question is, how do you create that file type?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2023
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
Is it possible to add a forward and back button into the UI interface to enable cycling through cameras. (Similar to swiping through cameras with the Blue Iris app?)
 

Bruce_H

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
9
Is it possible to add a forward and back button into the UI interface to enable cycling through cameras. (Similar to swiping through cameras with the Blue Iris app?)
Does the period key "." not work for you? It is listed in the Hotkeys as "Next Camera", Also the comma key "," is listed as "Previous Camera"
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
Is it possible to add a forward and back button into the UI interface to enable cycling through cameras. (Similar to swiping through cameras with the Blue Iris app?)
There is a planned feature to implement left and right swiping on touchscreens to do that. But it is not implemented yet.
 

hikky_b

Pulling my weight
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
158
Reaction score
177
Location
London
I keep getting this error popup on iPad. I've attempted to narrow down whats causing it but haven't found anything specific. Using WebCodecs.

It never displays the error when loading the page, only when it has been displaying cams for some time.

Pressing ok refreshes the stream and continues as normal.

tempImageKjS2PH.jpg
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
@hikky_b

That is a puzzling error, it seems that the streaming profile you are using may be getting forgotten somehow. I have not been able to figure out what sequence of events could cause that. Anyway I have tried to make the relevant code more fault-tolerant in UI3-264 which I would like you to install manually and let me know what happens. Maybe this will solve the problem for you or at least help identify the true solution.
 

kriskross

n3wb
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
10
Location
California
Hi bp, I'm getting a large number for my Alert status counter (944) with nothing in the Alerts list, but only for a User-level BI login. If I login as an Admin, the the counter is correct (no alerts). I'm particularly interested because my Alerts aren't working at all right now (after migrating from v4 to v5 (5.8.1.5), and I'm trying to track down the problem. I'm seeing this in Firefox on my iPhone and Mac computer (local network). Both logins have "Alert and status counters" checked in BI Settings.

Edit: I should add that I just re-started BI this morning with an empty database--deleted all clips and the db directory and regenerated the database.
 
Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,653
Reaction score
14,089
Location
USA
@kriskross
It is the number of alerts that are unseen by the user you've logged in with. The way it works, I believe, is whenever you view an alert for a particular camera, then Blue Iris considers that alert seen along with all older alerts from the same camera. And because of how mousing over an alert list item in UI3 opens an preview animation, that is sufficient for Blue Iris to consider the alert "seen".

I don't know why you'd see a number when your system currently has no alerts. Must be a bug, like Blue Iris isn't clearing the alert counters when alerts are deleted maybe. Should be able to right click the alert button in UI3's top bar and have an option to clear the alert counter.

1702936170453.png
 

kriskross

n3wb
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
10
Location
California
Thanks! The clear counters worked--I looked everywhere but right-click, duh :facepalm: I can check that off my list of conundrums, on to the next!
 

hikky_b

Pulling my weight
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
158
Reaction score
177
Location
London
@hikky_b

That is a puzzling error, it seems that the streaming profile you are using may be getting forgotten somehow. I have not been able to figure out what sequence of events could cause that. Anyway I have tried to make the relevant code more fault-tolerant in UI3-264 which I would like you to install manually and let me know what happens. Maybe this will solve the problem for you or at least help identify the true solution.
Will install now and update on my findings. Will try and see if I can identify a pattern into what triggers the error, aside from time. Thanks for the continued support!
 

EyeOfSauron

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
54
Reaction score
54
Location
Mordor
I have a reverse proxy that sits in front of my apps and it forwards unauthenticated requests to an authentication server, and then redirects back the request to the app with a number of headers, including the username, email, user's groups, etc. The goal here is SSO for all apps.
Just wanted to update that this is now implemented as of Blue Iris 5.8.2.4.
I reached out to support and Ken implemented it very quickly.

Blue Iris will look for the Remote-User header from the proxy, and authorize that user if it exists in the BI auth db.

Works without any issues with UI3, though the logout button won't really work, as that would have to be linked to the SSO provider's logout page (doesn't bother me).
 
Top