Blue Iris in VM with External Backup (via USB) ? General question

austwhite

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am very new to Blue Iris and NVR's in general. I apologise if this type of question is posted elsewhere, please redirect me if it exists.
I am currently in process of building machines in a VE using a Core i7 4770K with 24GB RAM. I have ProxMox VE running bare metal with a home automation program and OpenMediaVault running in VM's.
I can set aside 4 vCPU's and about 12GB RAM (based on current usage) for Blue Iris and I will be looking at 4 to 6 4MP cameras.
I have a 2TB internal WD Purple drive that will be dedicated to recordings. I also have a 6TB external USB (3tbx4 mirrored) that I wish to utilise for backup/long term storage.
What I would like to acheive is the following:

• 24/7 Low res (vga quality is okay) recording.
  • Motion Detection events recorded at Hi res.
  • Primary recording device is the 2TB Purple, hoping to be able to hold at least 7 days worth on this.
  • Backup storage - USB device, hoping to put all data older than 7 plus days out to this.

I want the above to work pretty well automatically and seamlessly if possible so all I need to do is open the "app" or webpage to check footage if needed.

Firstly, I guess I need to ask is it doable?
Secondly, any guidance (or direction to existing documentation) would be appreciated.

Thanks.

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Reaction score
I’d start by testing the achievable speeds you’re likely to get when moving data from the 2Tb to the USB within a VM.

General advice is to run BI on a dedicated machine, some do run as a VM but only you can decide if it works.

BI will need setting up and the latest version does allow you to monitor on a lower res sub stream and then record the higher res stream but this will all need to be setup and tested until you are happy.

I would look through the forums and do lots of reading as only you can set it all up and test to see if it meets your needs.