BHPhoto for Dahua Cam purchase

xmfan

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am helping a friend with their camera stuff for their house. They are considering going with BHPhoto to purchase their dahua cams.

Is BHPhoto considered a reasonable source to buy dahua cams from?
Are they an official authorized Dahua dealer? Will there be any issues upgrading firmware if bought cameras through them?

I've bought all my ubiquiti hardware from them with no issues whatsoever and in my experience, their customer service has been top notch. My dahua's were purchased from Andy of EmpireTech so thought to ask about B&HPhoto.

thanks.

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score
I'd stick with Andy, but that's personal preference. I have no experience with B&H, plus you get a better selection from Andy, I think.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
They are a legit seller. You will only be able to buy US region cameras not the international models.

Whoaru99

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I bought my first two Dahua from them. Sale prices were OK but, yes, they were the US model N44CB33. Firmware updates worked fine.

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Is BHPhoto considered a reasonable source to buy dahua cams from?
I know this will probably read like a rant, but I don't think it's a good value for most folks to order from B&H (or any other US reseller). Just my opinion, and I'm always up for hearing differing points.

... selection is limited. Dahua US, for whatever reason, doesn't offer many of the models that are popular on the forum, so resellers like B&H don't carry them. For example, no US versions of the 2MP Starlight vari-focal turrets (2231/5231)?!?!

... the price can be higher for the same hardware ... Dahua US does offer the 2MP Starlight fixed-lens turrets. B&H sells them for $170. Andy sells the same hardware (minus the Dahua logo being printed above the set screw) for $126.

B&H:

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.52.22 PM.png

ANDY: