App suddenly stopped working when using OpenVPN

dockdoc

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has any insights here? I've been using OpenVPN and the Blue Iris app on iphone for several years without issue. All of a sudden it stopped working this weekend, including on my wife's phone.

Our usual process is connect to OpenVPN (which is configured on the home router), then open BI app, connect. Now it just says "Connecting" then "Retrying" but doesn't ever connect.

I thought it might be an issue with the VPN so I did some troubleshooting, but don't think that's it. For example, if I connect via VPN on my laptop (from a different network), I can connect to the VPN easily, then to go my LAN address and use the BI Web UI no problem. So that suggests to me that the VPN is working OK.

I checked my BI App settings, which I hadn't touched, and they're correct. The app works fine when at home on the Wifi.

Kind of puzzled here. Appreciate suggestions!

update - I think the problem is actually related to OpenVPN and iOS. I noticed that I wasn’t also able to access my network config app while connected, which I usually can when on the VPN. Rebooting iPhone didn’t work. I’m suspecting there’s a bug that’s creating issues.

In the process of researching this I learned about WireGuard which my router also supports, so I installed and configured that and it works perfectly and I can access BlueIris using it. So… I guess that’s my solution? Really annoying because I had zero issues with OpenVPN for so long.

Last edited:

PoeNoPoe

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has any insights here? I've been using OpenVPN and the Blue Iris app on iphone for several years without issue. All of a sudden it stopped working this weekend, including on my wife's phone.

Our usual process is connect to OpenVPN (which is configured on the home router), then open BI app, connect. Now it just says "Connecting" then "Retrying" but doesn't ever connect.