5.2.7.0 - RTSP sub-streams for high-MP cameras

spuls

n3wb
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
17
Location
at
Has anyone configured sub-streams for the Reolinks? 423 & 520. The main stream string reads /bcs/channel0_main.bcs?channel=0&stream=0&user={......}
change "main" to "sub"

/bcs/channel0_sub.bcs?channel=0&stream=0&user={......}
 

GeoffColl

n3wb
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
7
Location
Scotland
ONVIF Device manager is a good and free program. It will illustrate the correct URL to use in the BI parameters. Toggle between streams and the URL will be listed during the live view screen.
Aye, I've downloaded and got it working quickly. The cameras appear in this app; but not in BI strangely!
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,004
Reaction score
1,259
Location
United Kingdom
You need to logon to the cam itself and check and set the substream there, in BI you are simply configuring to use it but if the substream isn’t actually enabled in the cam then BI won’t be able to pull the stream.
 

GeoffColl

n3wb
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
7
Location
Scotland
You need to logon to the cam itself and check and set the substream there, in BI you are simply configuring to use it but if the substream isn’t actually enabled in the cam then BI won’t be able to pull the stream.
Thanks - but that seems to be half the problem! I can use both v7 & v8 of the Reolink Software. Both provide settings for Main & Sub-Stream, but not how they are enabled... Reolink haven't updated their FAQ on connecting to BI. I've had them working under Reolink description rather than Generic/ONVIF - but for some reason (probably Network related) I can't now view in BI.
 

spuls

n3wb
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
17
Location
at
They are enabled by default as far i can tell. There is also no option to disable substreams on my 520.


maybe youcan try the follow option as substream:

/h264Preview_01_sub
 

GeoffColl

n3wb
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
7
Location
Scotland
They are enabled by default as far i can tell. There is also no option to disable substreams on my 520.


maybe youcan try the follow option as substream:

/h264Preview_01_sub
I suspect on their app, the streams are governed by choosing, Fluent, Balanced, Clear etc?
I'll give that setting a go, thank you....
 

inline6

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
16
Location
canada
In the ONVIF app when you select Sub-stream and view it in Live the sub URL should show in the bottom of the screen.
 
Top