4MP IP cams on DVR that only records at 2MP?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
So I pretty well understand cctv cams and am currently running 2MP CVI Dahua cams and am quite satisfied with them. I'm about to upgrade to a newer Dahua Tribrid DVR that will give me more channels, allow me to run IP cams, and allow me to run at 30fps along with some intelligent options/IVS like Tripwire. (One of these, not sure what the difference is other than the "N" appended to the end of the model #? HCVR7216AN-S3 or HCVR7216A-S3)

So my question: I'd like to play with some 3-4MP IP cams as well, but don't know if there is any real advantage if my DVR will only record at 1080p anyway? I'm a noob when it comes to IP cams.

Last edited by a moderator:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
So I pretty well understand cctv cams and am currently running 2MP CVI Dahua cams and am quite satisfied with them. I'm about to upgrade to a newer Dahua Tribrid DVR that will give me more channels and allow me to run at 30fps along with some intelligent options like Tripwire. (One of these, not sure what the difference is other than the "N" appended to the end of the model #? HCVR7216AN-S3 or HCVR7216A-S3)

So my question: I'd like to play with some 3-4MP IP cams as well, but don't know if there is any real advantage if my DVR will only record at 1080p anyway? I'm a noob when it comes to IP cams.
You will be at a disadvantage, they will perform worse at night/low light.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
but on the other hand you'll get much better WDR when comparing most of dahua's 2MP against the 4MP, though some of the 2MP's do come w/real WDR instead of DWDR.

It really does help on northern facing cameras since they are often in the shade of whatever they are attached to.. certain times of the day my northern facing 2MP cameras either have faces over exposed or under exposed when the 4MP ones have great detail.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score