a7m221

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone
ive been struggling for a couple of days with this problem

i have 2 NVRs

1- DS-7608NI-K2/8P > physically Connected to 4 Cameras : D1 - D2 - D3 - D4

2- DS-7604NI-E1 > i Want to Connect to only Camera : D1

They are both in same network but couldn't figure how to show camera D1 on the 2nd Nvr
tried to add the 1st Nvr to the 2nd by ip and password Failed also created a user also Failed
tried to enable ONVIF and create a user also nothing showed up

Then i bought a switch and connected only camera D1 and both Nvrs to it and it succeed to show on both Nvrs but had new problem , Motion detection wont show on playback ( the green bar ) but the camera records and shows the yellow bell when motion is detected

can someone tell me how to do it step by step please im no expert i probably did something wrong

Will.I.Am

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
When you link a camera and an nvr, the camera sends its analytics events (ie motion) to that nvr.

Ip cameras aren't like analogue where they're just firing out a video stream that you can (depending on the strength of the video signal) connect into as many recorders as you want.
They create a 2 way link between the camera and the nvr.

You should be able to use the second recorder solely to record a video stream if you mess around with some of the custom profiles. It might work if you were to manually add a custom profile that just looked for the rtsp stream from the camera, but with onvif sometimes even then the second nvr would be trying to take control of the camera, which is where your issues are likely coming from - 2 masters trying to control one slave.

Another option would be to connect the camera directly back in to the main nvr. The nvrs themselves have rtsp streams where you can specify which channel you want to view.
You could then set up a profile on the second nvr to request the stream for that camera from the first nvr so it could record it.