1 or 2 Camera Surveillance System Using Home Computer

jimmi328

n3wb
Reaction score
I’m new to surveillance cameras and need advice to put together a 1 to 2 camera system using hardware I already have. My plan is as follows.

Both my computers I built for performance (gaming) and both have additional hard drives of around 2 terabytes. I believe I could use one as a NVR? Both computers run 24/7.
Next; I would buy an outdoor hardwired IP bullet camera(s) and mount to the front of my house. I figure 75 feet of CAT5 (per camera) and feed it through the attic or existing hole in the cement wall of my house. The CAT5 cable(s) would attach to a PoE switch and then the uplink port of this switch would attach to the RJ-45 port on the mother board or one of the ports on my router. Then purchase Blue Iris software.

Am I thinking correctly? Would this work? Please advise.

Zorac

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
should work, those computers might not be power friendly but if they are already running, its not an issue. watch out for the hard drives, i would dedicate one of the storage drives to BI's storage needs, consumer drives have a high rate of fail as well, so you may want to look at something like a WD red or purple, but you could run them to they fail (depending on what they are), then upgrade them.

2 cameras wont much in the way of resources on the computer, so you can still use the computer for gaming.

jimmi328

n3wb
Reaction score
should work, those computers might not be power friendly but if they are already running, its not an issue. watch out for the hard drives, i would dedicate one of the storage drives to BI's storage needs, consumer drives have a high rate of fail as well, so you may want to look at something like a WD red or purple, but you could run them to they fail (depending on what they are), then upgrade them.

2 cameras wont much in the way of resources on the computer, so you can still use the computer for gaming.