Zoom/PPF for human readable?

Bitslizer

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Newbie here so forgive my ignorance.

Read through as much as I can and I understand that for Machine recognition like ALPR it is recommend to have 200PPF. But if I'm not doing ALPR or plate recognizer and only want to record and be able to look up the Date/Time/Plate manaully and be able to read it reliably by human, whats the min PPF I would need?

I want to get 2 cameras for LP but I can't justify $500+ for 2x of the Dahua 12x bullet everyone rave about here. Seems there are a few Dahua 13.5mm within my budget but I'm not sure those have enough zoom or not. Looking at about 60-100ft or so.

Reaction score
A 13.5mm for getting plates at 60-100 feet is probably not going to work unless you are at about 0-5 degrees. You could use the IPVM calculator to see a calculated image for a specific cam. The only real way to tell though, is to set up a cam and test it in your particular setup.

IPVM Camera Calculator V3

See these threads to get an idea about LPR and it's challenges.

richardgohth

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Newbie here so forgive my ignorance.

Read through as much as I can and I understand that for Machine recognition like ALPR it is recommend to have 200PPF. But if I'm not doing ALPR or plate recognizer and only want to record and be able to look up the Date/Time/Plate manaully and be able to read it reliably by human, whats the min PPF I would need?

I want to get 2 cameras for LP but I can't justify $500+ for 2x of the Dahua 12x bullet everyone rave about here. Seems there are a few Dahua 13.5mm within my budget but I'm not sure those have enough zoom or not. Looking at about 60-100ft or so.
say the stroke width of the characters in the plate is 1cm, then theorectical ( nyquist criterion) minimum is 2 pixels per cm or 200 pixels per metre

Bitslizer

Pulling my weight
Reaction score