Will this suffice for 3 3MP cameras streamed to phone?

Reaction score
Here is the link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/HP-Compaq-Desktop-Computer-8100-Elite-Intel-Core-i5-650-3-20-GHz-4GB-320-GB-HD-/381406262405

I am very new to this and am still deciding on the cameras between a Hikvision or Dahua but will probably go with the Hikvision 2032. Hopefully it can withstand winter weather:).

But I am trying to get an inexpensive PC that can run Blue Iris and stream to my phone. It will be 3 cameras, maybe 4 max. They will be 3mp and probably run 1080p. I would also change out the hard drive for a larger one but I don't plan to record 24/7, just motion detection.

Do you think this PC will work for me? Any better suggestions for cheap? Thank you! Love this board already!

P.S. I've read that NVR's are unreliable but I also read they can be a lot easier for setting up access on a phone. Any good, reliable and relatively cheap NVR suggestions would be welcomed as well!

Last edited by a moderator:
As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
That is way overpriced.. It's a first generation system you can get an i5 haswell elitedesk 800 for 300..much more powerful and way more power efficient...

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion! I can only seem to find the cheapest one at 370 and its seller refurbished on eBay. Maybe there will be some Black Friday sales for it. I appreciate a step in the right direction

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion! I can only seem to find the cheapest one at 370 and its seller refurbished on eBay. Maybe there will be some Black Friday sales for it. I appreciate a step in the right direction
Another thing to keep in mind that a haswell i3 will be about 25 percent more powerful than that first gen i5...
I purchased my last i5-4590 hp elitedesk for 317...with full 3 year warranty....so be patient.