Why do about half the cars have their headlights on today?

Sybertiger

Known around here
Reaction score
Was in Atlanta the last week or so. When I got back to the Orlando area I noticed about 50% of the cars are driving with their headlights on. Pretty bright at 5PM and sunset still had 2-1/2 hours or more to go. Cars driving behind me. Cars driving toward me. Cars on side streets going both directions. Cars driving in all directions. Noticed this when I got about 5 miles within my house. Not a funeral. Weird! I feel like I didn't get the memo.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I was born in ATL and lived there until 1969 when I headed off to USN boot camp. When I was growing up and even in '65 as a licensed driver I recall just about very holiday weekend people were asked by local media to turn on their headlights as a reminder to drive safely.

Not sure what was going on in Orlando though. Many states have passed laws in recent years that require you to turn on headlights when raining; my '18 F-50 and '20 Fusion both turn on the headlights if you turn on the wipers.

Still, you can't fix those that will drive way too fast in a blinding rain or when it's dark as pitch and won't turn on anything but their radio.:idk:

Reaction score
I start my vehicle, buckle my seatbelt, and turn on my headlights every time I get in. I used to be a never belter, seen too many crash reports with non survivors unbuckled in vehicles they should have walked away from. Headlights greatly improve your visibility to others, maybe just enough to get them to look away from their phone long enough to see you. “Lights on for safety” as it says on the side of many commercial vehicles

ludshed

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Any vehicle newer than 2019 has lights on all the time. Unless you turn the knob/press the button! You’re not an anti-climate changer are you?!!

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score