Wanscam IP camera issue

mm5300

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi there! I'm a newbie on the site and just started getting into more with the IP cameras I have. Trying to get the most use out of what I've purchased in the past. I know they are a pretty cheap camera, but I've had a couple issues not long after getting it set up. First, during the day, it seems at times that the camera will continuously flicker between dark and light. It flickers back and forth very quickly and it doesn't always happen in the same location. I was able to catch two pictures of the same location when it was flickering that I have attached. Second, at night, it basically looks like there's a cob web over the whole camera. It's mounted where you need a ladder, so I got up there, cleaned the outer dome, inside the dome and the lens, but it stayed exactly the same. I have included a picture of that as well. Could it be something with the IR LEDs? I've updated to the latest firmware, etc, but still no luck. I've tried to contact Wanscam technical support several times, with no response, but I'm guessing that's pretty normal. Thanks for your time and any help would be greatly appreciated. Here's the camera specs:

Model not 100% sure as I haven't gone up on the ladder, but believe it is AJ-COWA-C1D8
Device ID 00B8FB0104A5
Firmware Version 47.37.2.49
Embedded Web UI 18.0.17.20

Attachments

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
78% of people on Amazon rate this camera at 2-star or less (54% at 1-star). It was cheap because it was crap.

Have you tried taking a screenshot in the dark with the dome completely off? That way you will know if it's the dome or if it's software.

No surprise that Wanscam don't reply to technical support, that's the price you pay when you buy cheap rubbish.

My gut instinct, it's a combination of the dome (as this hasn't been designed well, even Hikvision has problems with domes, but not this bad) and a complete POS sensor in the camera.

mm5300

n3wb
Reaction score