Using BI for remote fish counting application

Reaction score
I am a fisheries biologist in Alaska, and my main job is counting the number of salmon returning to a lake to spawn. We use underwater cameras to record salmon passing through a chute in a weir, and use the video to count the number and species of fish passing through. For a number of years we have used small DVRs stationed at the weir site, with motion-triggered video recorded to SD cards and reviewed by field crews each day. In recent years, we have moved toward remote monitoring, and have used video encoders to convert the analog camera feed and Ubiquiti wireless bridges to transmit the IP video from the remote site. Until now, we have used the IP video streams to monitor the site and ensure all the gear is working. The actual fish counting is still done from video recorded on the SD cards in the streamside DVRs, which get changed out every week or two.

With our latest project, we are looking at using either Blue Iris or a NVR to handle recording the video. Here's a brief rundown of our setup:

4 analog underwater cameras (2 cameras in 2 chutes) connected to Axis M7014 4-channel encoder
2-3 Amcrest 3MP surveillance cameras providing above water views of the site
wireless bridges (~100 Mbps) connecting field site, the nearby field camp (a long hike away), and the closest internet connection in a nearby (45 km) village.