Troubleshooting what?

Paradym3

n3wb
Reaction score
I have been running BI for ~2 years now on the below system. CPU started at ~60-70% and after I added cameras over time it got to be ~80-90% over time. A few weeks ago something went crazy and CPU was pegged at 95-100% all the time. No recent BI changes, running the longer term stable release for a month or so. So it is not like BI "changed" suddenly. No new cameras for a year, no settings changes.

I go through the BI optimization guides again and decide, yea I am running a bit higher FPS on some cameras then I really need. I spend hours dropping 7 POE Dahua cameras to 15 FPS and one at 25 FPS (front yard with best quality and detail preferred). I also drop two non recording wifi Dahua cameras and two Wyze RTSP cameras down a bit. After a few trials I get CPU down to 40-55%. System is solid and I reboot, verify CPU use and wait days. All seems OK with new CPU use, Great.

Windows update and I reboot. Back to high CPU use again. All or nearly all my POE cameras have the yellow warning icon now which is odd. I troubleshoot that and read about FPS and the I Frame interval. I spend several more hours getting each camera to have matching FPS and I Frame interval (25 FPS, 25 I Frame Int. or 15 FPS and 15 I Frame Int.). Also the setting in BI>Camera Settings>Video> Max. rate. Reboot and monitor for a week or so now and all seems OK. I have solid FPS/key values of 1.00 or darn close all the time.