Tried some boxed system but I think I need to build my own

Sybertiger

Known around here
Reaction score
On a real computer, not your phone study the > cliff notes.
I have reviewed two nvrs, but I've been using BI for almost two years now, and Blue Iris is head and shoulders above any nvr hands down.
The learning curve is the same, Blue Iris motion detection and it's Mobile app are the cats meow. ;)
Purchase a refurbed Dell optiplex with a I7-4750 from Ebay, you then have a very small and energy efficient system.
Properly set up, it is every bit as reliable as is any NVR.
Review-Dahua Starlight IPC-HDW5231R-ZE 800 meter capable ePOE
If no audio is needed, then this: Review-Dahua IPC-HDW2231RP-ZS Starlight Camera-Varifocal
Choosing Hardware for Blue Iris | IP Cam Talk
https://www.amazon.com/IPCamPower-Network-Additional-Designed-Cameras/dp/B07BVVWYHN/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1544488682&sr=8-4&keywords=ipcampower+poe+switch
Good info...thank you. I read parts of the cliff notes a few months ago...really good info but I need to reread sections that I skimmed through. My biggest concern for the BI route was that I'd become a security camera IT professional as a part time hobby which I'm capable of but wanted to avoid plus concerns about having a "custom built" system that may (or may not) require more baby sitting. It's just the unknown that I have concerns about. Having played with a couple of boxed NVR systems was the only real way of getting the feet wet to understand limitations. Fortunately, it was no risk since they have 90-day return policy. I'm sure that one way or another I'd end up taking the path of BI but wasn't sure if now was that time. But, I think I'll go ahead and purchase the BI license while it's on sale as eventually I'd need that piece for a robust system. Having read more commentary of NVR systems I'm learning more and more about limitations that make me uneasy. Thanks again!

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.