Some questions after reading Cliff Notes

fred583

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi, I am new here. Currently, my home has a non-IP DVR with only two cameras. I want to go to an 8 channel NVR PoE and start with 4 new IP cameras. For remote access I plan to setup VPN on my Asus RT-AC68U and put a VPN client on my laptop that I RV travel with. I want to use a different vendor as mine only has the usual rebranded units and convinced me to do port forwarding involving a DNS they had. Several years ago that led to my cable company shutting me down as the DVR had been hacked and was spraying their network with bad stuff. I had to buy a newer DRV from them to fix that. Thanks to what I have learned here, I have just turned off port forwarding on the router.

I have greatly enjoyed the Cliff Notes and the other knowledge that is available here. I had a couple of questions:

1. Computer/BI Option: This seems really popular here. I am an IP cam noob so my ideas need checking. My DVR is in a small non-obvious crouch-in space that needs a screw gun to access. To do any work on the DVR other than the browser interface I have to move it out of the area to a table with a keyboard, and monitor. My impression of the computer/BI alternative is that it would need too much babysitting for that location. I also have gotten the feeling that a NVR removes the IP vulnerabilities of the cameras whereas a computer would not?