POE powered switch

Mac25

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Ms Gulf Coast
need some ideals for poe powered wifi access point / switch, having trouble finding a solution, i dont have power where i need
a wifi device, it would be covered under the rear porch area, i already have poe powered cat 5 cable there. tia.
 

grumpywilson

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
183
Reaction score
164
Location
NJ
The Ubiquiti UniFi U6 Mesh is poe powered and rated for outdoor use.
 

grumpywilson

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
183
Reaction score
164
Location
NJ
Or the UniFi WiFi 6 Lite might work for you as long as it doesn't see any weather. It's also poe powered and not poe+
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
10,829
Reaction score
22,126
Location
Alabama
need some ideals for poe powered wifi access point / switch, having trouble finding a solution, i dont have power where i need
a wifi device, it would be covered under the rear porch area, i already have poe powered cat 5 cable there. tia.
POE-powered switches are easy to locate, POE-powered AP's, not so much.

Here's one ==>> UltraPoe 4 Port Outdoor Gigabit POE++ Extender, up to 100m/330ft Ethernet over copper wire, IEEE 802.3at/af compliant, Plug and Play

And another one ==>> OdiySurveil(TM) 4-Port 10/100M IEEE802.3at (Power-in) to IEEE802.3af (Power-Out) PoE Extender for Ethernet/PoE Power

Regarding a POE-powered access point (AP), I suggest you find the wireless AP or wireless router* you want, use a POE splitter to power the AP, there are 5 VDC and 12VDC versions to convert the incoming POE 802.3af/at to your voltage.

* FWIW, you can convert an Wi-Fi router to wireless AP only duty by turning off DHCP and assigning it a static AP in the same subnet as your LAN, using a unique IP that is outside of your current Internet router's DHCP pool. You're more likely to find a better through-put, more powerful AP at a decent price by going this route (pun intended). :cool:
 

Mac25

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Ms Gulf Coast
TP-Link EAP225-Outdoor | Omada AC1200 Wireless Gigabit Outdoor Access Point, this is the kinda unit i am looking for,
its listed as business class and one of the reviews stated its not for home use so tp link wont talk to public for trouble shooting, and unsure
if the unit can be used without their software.

to put an unused router outside seems to welcome moisture buildup then failure, some of our storm will blow
rain horizontally during 30-40 mph gust, from what i can understand its possible.
 

Mac25

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Ms Gulf Coast
i did not expect tp to to be so easy to get an answer from, called and transferred to the correct dept, the tech stated it can
be used as a stand alone wifi device powered by poe switch and didnot require additional hardware, so its been purchased.
i hope it works !
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
10,829
Reaction score
22,126
Location
Alabama
i did not expect tp to to be so easy to get an answer from, called and transferred to the correct dept, the tech stated it can
be used as a stand alone wifi device powered by poe switch and didnot require additional hardware, so its been purchased.
i hope it works !
That's a great alternative, after I closed my post and rushed off to get some meds for my wife it dawned on me...I was in such as hurry I failed to mention Ubiquiti and TP-LINK, especially since I've installed dozens of them, mostly the former as Layer 2 Transparent bridges. Sorry that I failed to meet your needs, I was a bit erked I had to drive 50 miles round trip after being in the vicinity just yesterday and with the price of gas being what it is, etc.

I recently installed an indoor TP-Link EAP225 V3 | Omada AC1350 Gigabit Wireless Access Point in the ceiling of a Mexican restaurant and it works great. It's 2.4 and 5GHz and is 802.3af powered or by a furnished passive 24VDC POE injector like many Ubiquiti.

NOTE: Just insure you configure the 2.4GHz with a 20MHz channel width so that smart phones, tablets and PC's can use it.
 

Mac25

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
11
Location
Ms Gulf Coast
TonyR NOTE: Just insure you configure the 2.4GHz with a 20MHz channel width so that smart phones, tablets and PC's can use it.

good to know tony, we just got wifi calling on the last phone update and seems to work, i have a laptop, desktop and cell that needs a better wifi signal,
hoping this works.
 
Top