Placement above garage

joxn

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey,
I would like to monitor the area in front of my garage and look for the ideal placement as well as camera model to achieve that.

As this is in Germany, I need to be a bit careful about not monitoring public space or my neighbor's ground. His front-door is just to the right of the blue garage, so that needs to be avoided.
Therefore, I am looking for a camera that would only monitor - roughly - the areas A and B.

I was thinking about putting a fixed camera on-top of my garage (position X - or maybe in the center of my garage) or alternatively under the roof (position Y) pointing downwards.
What do you think is the best position?

I am not an expert on cameras, so I am unsure what kind of parameters I need to look at to ensure that area is not getting too large in the end.
(I own a Dahua IPC-HDBW4431F-AS that I use for the garden. So another Dahua would be fine for me.)

Thanks a lot for your advise!

Attachments

Sybertiger

Known around here
Reaction score
Some cameras should allow you to mask out areas you do not want to record. What do German statutes say about that? Okay or not? And are neighbors allowed to make you reveal what the camera records?

joxn

n3wb
Reaction score
I am on good speaking terms with my neighbor and could give him access to the camera. However, I think it is important that an outsider (even just a parcel service or a random visitor), can see that they are not filmed. Thus a dome camera or a PTZ that is not directional, is rather not allowed.

Do you have a recommendation for a camera that can roughly cover that area? And would you rather go for the garage position or roof position?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm mounting a 3.6mm turret 5442 at the Red X

• you want to get a close detail shot of anyone at the door and still see the driveway.