PC Hardware Issues - Frame Rate in Preview (on a laptop)

timb

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all,

Hope someone can help with my query about PC hardware for BI.

I have been using BI for about 6 months now with a single 1080 ptz camera, and it has worked great. I've been using a core2duo laptop with a 9600GT graphics chip.

However, when I tried to add a 720 camera too, I pushed the CPU usage up to 100% and screen update started to lag, so I figured I would get a new laptop.

Long story short...I bought a new i7 laptop with a 850M GPU and now BI runs WORSE than it did on my old laptop.

Recording is unaffected as I'm recording the raw steam...but the preview is laggy. When I zoom in and out, the screen stutters etc. it is almost perfectly smooth on my old laptop.

CPU usage is only hitting 15%.

However...I have now discovered that the default GPU in my new laptop is an Intel HD 4600. The 850M only appears to be used for DirectX applications. So I am thinking this must be the issue?

The developer has confirmed that BI uses standard Windows calls, and not DirectX.

However I have also noticed threads on here advising that a dedicated GPU is not required for BI? Does this mean a lot of you are using integrated graphics, and experiencing smooth frame rates in preview when zooming etc?

Thing is...I've proven that BI does utilise the 9600GT on my old laptop...I assume because it is the only GPU it has. It uses 20% of the GPU constantly while outputting a 1080 preview.

So...I am now thinking that I needed to pick a laptop with only a Geforce GPU? I did not realise this laptop had an Intel HD 4600...it is onboard the i7 and was not in the specs. I understand (now) that some of the newer i7's have integrated graphics onboard.

Please can anyone make any sense of this?

Many thanks

Tim.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Check options>cameras> limit live preview, make sure its unchecked. Something is wrong..it should be smooth.