Need help on choosing a camera with remote admin capability.

sirtet

n3wb
Reaction score
What do i mean by "remote admin"?
I will have a number of cams in different networks, and i can't open ports or configure anything on these networks.
Still, i think i have to be able to administer the cams from a central place once they are deployed.
So i wonder if there are cams which have features for such a setup.
I think it could be something like
"cam registers with my account in a vendor-cloud or better something that i can self-host".
or
"cam dials into a vpn from which it will be accessible".

The jobs of these cams will be to send a pic. every 1h or so to an ftp server (or i get the pic. from the cam with some script).

Is this remote-admin thing a requirement that other people have too, and therefore solutions exist?
Which?
Or am i somehow thinking backwards? Could be, i am new to IP cams...

Old Timer

Known around here
Reaction score
I would think a setup with open VPN would work fine for you.
There are ASUS routers that will run the openVPN server, so you can connect in to them from remote.

If you are familiar with IT, you can run a PFsense box at each end and use a VPN between the 2 boxed to have a connection all of the time.
Or you could run one box, and use the open VPN on your PC to connect in to the PFsense box and configure your cameras.

sirtet

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks.
Yes, i understand how this would work.
But i am hoping for a solution that does not require hardware beyond the cam itself.
Right now i have one location where i have a a network cable with poe dangling out of a wall where the cam has to be installed.
No access to more space for a router or any other box.

TRLcam

Getting comfortable
Reaction score