LPR for speeds up 100kmh

moviefan

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi i am a newbie and am looking to get an LPR camera for my T intersection road. 1 shed is only 3 meters off the road and is about 3 meters high so I can point the camera down to get plate numbers the speed of this road is 100km. the other shed is about 4 meters off the road but just over 2.5 high and because of the T a vehicle has to slow for the corner which is about 40 meters away so they have slowed to about 50kmh by then which cameras would you suggest and could i put a dahua with a hik-vision nvr or vice versa hik-vision with a dahua

I haven't yet decided on getting a Dahua or Hik-vision nvr as it depends on what camera will work at this speed
cheers

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Do you want to manually visually read the plates on the screen as opposed to the camera itself reading and logging? That makes a difference on which camera to recommend.

It comes down to three parameters - optical zoom, shutter speed, and angle.

You need enough optical zoom to make the plate as large as possible in the field of view. Ideally, the field of view should have the vehicle and not much else, so it isn't an overview camera.

You need to try to get as much as a straight on angle as possible, which is why most of us get a high powered optical zoom so we can point it down the street and "flatten" the angle.

You need to run the camera at a fast shutter in order to capture the plate. Shutter speed is more important than FPS.