LPR Case Study: Scoping, Planning, Proof of Concept, Installation, & Results

Reaction score
Introduction

This thread is about my journey into LPR (License Plate Recognition) after having about 18 months of experience with IP cams and having quite a bit of my system finished. I am not an expert on LPR, or IP cameras either. But I have spent a lot of time working with my system and interacting on IPCAMTALK.

Some things to realize as you read this. I am retired so I have time to not rush the work and I do it all myself. This took almost a year from inception to working cams. Part of the reason is that both my wife and I had some medical issues and both had surgeries during this timeframe. The other is that I wanted to take my time and get it right the first time. My wife supports me and does not question what I am doing to the outside of the house. I also do not want the HOA getting into my business so I try not to make cams very obvious from the street. Wiring is hidden as much as possible. Most outside work is done weekdays during the work day. All cameras are Dahua and were purchased from Andy ( @EMPIRETECANDY ), as all of my cams have been. I use Blue Iris for my VMS. I record continuous and also use motion alerts.

There have been a lot of questions about LPR in threads for quite some time. Many newbies want to jump right in with LPR from the beginning thinking it is an easy feat. They do not realize that without some experience with IP cams, running an LPR setup is not simple or easy. There are lots of things to consider. See my thread below on that topic.

Scoping

I began considering LPR at the end of 2019. I live on a corner in a subdivision north of Houston Texas, outside of the city limits. The corner is a ‘T’ intersection with the top of the ‘T’ running NE/SW in front of my house (Front Street) and the vertical of the ‘T’ running NW/SE alongside of my house (Side Road).
1.JPG2.jpg3.JPG