Is BI right for me?

rolibr24

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
To start it off I am a complete newb to security cameras. I’m only familiar with the system I have at work which are analog cameras.

I’m looking at setting up a IP system on my property to monitor livestock in my out buildings. Because of the distance I’m needing to go, and conduit space for underground im needing to go IP vs analog.

I’m debating on what to do with a NVR. Wether to go with a dedicated NVR or to go with Blue Iris.

From all my research BI is always highly recommend. But my concern is that I have zero computer skills. I’m OK with buying a recommended system and installing BI, but i know I will be having issues if I need to start doing configurations to get everything set up.

With that being said, is Blue Iris for me or am I a candidate for a NVR?

bradner

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
NVR to start, maybe when that gets long in the tooth you may decide to go with BI after you get good with the NVR. Exact reason why I got my friend a Dahua NVR and not a BI system.

Last edited:

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
You can also use dedicated RF links rather than conduit/CAT cable to get a signal in from the out buildings assuming the have power. Each building would need a PoE switch to power the cameras and the link itself. Might save a lot of digging and conduit plus it does save time and is quite reliable unlike WiFi.

Ubiquity Nano Station Loco M5

TP Link Bridge

Another comment -

Three rules
Rule #1 - Cameras multiply like rabbits.
Rule #2 - Cameras are more addictive than drugs.
Rule #3 - You never have enough cameras.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

TVille

Getting comfortable
Reaction score