I finally caught a killer with my LPR, sorta.

Robert G.

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I have cameras setup in a rough area of town (have posted videos in the past of car bombs, beatings, police crashing cars etc.).

In 2018 there was a drive by shooting up the street. I started playing with LPR at that time with my existing cameras. It was so fun, I added two cameras just for capturing plates. I thought by 2019 my cameras and LPR setup would have helped the police catch a killer.

I was wrong, off by a couple years.

The other night at 2am, working on the computer and I catch a flash out of the corner of my eye (I have 12 cameras live on tablets all the time). Was that a gunshot? I have no audio, but I see a car race out of the parking lot across the street (the troublesome building with all the drugs). Should I call the cops and tell them I think I saw a gunshot?

No, I don't think I should call them. Maybe it was just a guy taking a photo and I saw the flash on his camera?

I rewind.... play back.

Holly shit! A vehicle drives into the parking lot, turns around & stops. Passenger door opens, guy steps out. Lifts a shotgun/rifle type gun and starts shooting. Entire thing lasts 4 seconds, he gets back into the vehicle and drives away.

Time to call the cops.

I ask if they have had any reports of gunshots in town (small town). They said yes, near the convenience store but none of the callers saw anything - just reporting they hear shots.

I was able to tell them the address, what apartment they were shooting at, what the vehicle was and of course THE LICENSE PLATE!

Within 10 minutes I had them images of the vehicle emails to the frontline officers who crawling all over the place.

They shot one apartment up, no one inside was hit.

I am not going to release any video that I captured yet, since I'm sure this will be going to court. I will however, share the news report below.