Help please in choosing the right camera for my application

one wolf

n3wb
Reaction score
Intended use and requirements:
    • Camera will be mounted on an existing galvanized pole that extends out of the roof near the corner of the house.
    • I am an engineer and have no problem customizing the mount and building a watertight ebox to house electronics if necessary.
    • I will run power and cat5 to the attic where there is an AC outlet and router is in the room immediately below where camera is mounted - less than 30' from camera to router including twists and turns (more like 17' line of sight if you could see through the ceiling and roof).
    • Camera will be about 25' above ground with 270° of horizon range (remaining 90% blocked by roof).
    • Waterfront (saltwater) environment
  • Intended use:
    • Manual remote monitoring of the property grounds. I want to keep an eye on the weather, the water, dock, boat, driveway, foot traffic, street, etc. Our house is in a commercial area with lots of activity. Everything I want to see is within 270° of camera view. No trees.
    • PTZ is a must
  • Additional requirements
    • Connectivity - wired via 30' cat5/6 cable direct to router. Wireless cam access is not required.
    • Motion detection - NOT required. While nice, we are in a high traffic area including nearly constant large birds (seagulls, herons, pelicans, etc.), parking lot next door with much car traffic, boats on the water, etc. Motion detection is not a practical option for me for this camera.
    • Audio - NOT required. I will use my imagination.
    • Local computer requirements - I prefer not to require one but if necessary I have a laptop that stays at this house. I would prefer the camera communicate with the cloud via my router with no local PC required.
    • Smart phone remote access - yes definitely
    • PC/web remote access - yes definitely