Help a Noobie understand VPN and the best route to take

Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

im a new member and to be honest, I only signed up in hopes you all could share your expertise with me. I'm a bit of a newb so please bear with me. So I've had my cams for a year now but recently have become more avid about being more secure when viewing them remotely. Currently using the port forwarding method but from the research and reading I've done, it definitely isn't the most secure way to do so. It seems like from my research on the forums as well as the Internet in general, setting up a VPN is my best bet. Now here is where my questions starts and hoping that you could assist me. Currently using an Apple AirPort Extreme which doesn't support VPN. Wondering which is my best route to go. Use my Mac Mini and connect to the AirPort Extreme and setup it up as a VPN Server, but how would I connect to my cameras remotely? Or get a modem from flashrouters and sign up for a Vpn service? What is there difference between the two and what would be the best and most secure route in your opinion? Is there another alternative? All this reading and I am thoroughly confused lol, so any helpful input and direction would be so greatly appreciated! Thanks so much in advance for your time! If this has been covered please feel free to link me so I can do more reading and hopefully not get more confused! :rapture:

Reaction score
Yes I did, but still unsure of the process and the hardware needed. No offense intended but if you didn't feel like helping out, then what was the purpose of commenting? But thank you for bumping my thread. And yes, I've googled it too. Just looking for the "VPN for dummies version that isn't so technical." Lol

Have done a lot of reading and still lots left to do as I've bookmarked a bunch of pages.

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score