Follow up re camera installing

wpix123

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all thanks for the great recommendations.

I now have a question I have a finished basement and a connected brick house.

I would like cameras in the back and the front.

One guy told me he would put the NVR in the living room and run the Ethernet cable from the front of the house behind the gutter over the roof and connect to the cameras behind the house.

My friend said it's horrible idea re the cabling and location DVR prone to theft.

I was then told by someone else to run the camera via conduit piping and junction boxes through the basement with plastic covering ng and out the front with conduit piping, putting the DVR in the basement.

My question is which is better and is the labor for the conduit piping job worth the $1000 as quoted. The cameras and equipment another 1000. I can buy them myself and pay 4-500 but no warranty.

This is my first time doing this and I want it to look poorly done.

Is there any good reviews for backstreet surveillance? Their hdcvi system is in my budget. ~$600 or get the cat5 system for higher resolution and zoom.

Or just go with the hikvision 2342 I believe $125x4+$250nvr+$992tb drive.

Advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Dee

Sent from my XT1095 using Tapatalk

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Whats the house like? If you have eaves you can mount the cameras there, fish the wire up inside and then thru the attic or even basement to the NVR.

$1000 is a lot, it can easily be done for less then 1/4 of that if you watch some youtube videos on installation and don't mind doing it yourself. I have three cameras wired thru conduit, mounted it all myself and spent about $75 bucks total. I'm eventually gonna wire one of those cameras up thru the eaves and into the interior of the house now that I am more comfortable fishing the cat6 tho.