Built Vs Bought

burtonvdp

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm very new to IP Cameras but not so new to computers. Let me start out with my situation and go from there:

Home Install -

Already have:
8 port PoE Tough Switch from Ubiquiti ( They make some nice WiFi stuff too)
1 Hikvision Bullet/Dome Camera

What I want it to do:
Max of 5 Cameras 3mp (Hikvision) ; Probably more like 3.....
Remote access via Android, iPhone, and Windows Based machines (Maybe playback as well?)
Record on all channels
Ease of use (I need it as polished as possible for access via apps)
7 to 10 days of play back

So that being said will a Hikvision NVR work ok?
What are the advantages of building your own NVR?
Which software should I use given the remote access and app access is very important?

I've been doing some reading and so far given the hardware requirements it seems like a pretty pricey venture to build my own vs getting one. Does a NVR box not fore fill my "Wants" section? Do you have any recommendations?

Thanks!

networkcameracritic

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Figure an 8 channel Hikvision NVR will set you back about $450ish with a 1TB drive, already has a PoE switch built in, so you can sell the ToughSwitch to help pay for it (not PoE 802.3AF compatible anyway) or you can use an old PC and start using the free Hikvision iVMS4300 PCNVR, or get BlueIris for under $40, both have smartphone apps for IOS and Android

burtonvdp

n3wb
Reaction score
Figure an 8 channel Hikvision NVR will set you back about $450ish with a 1TB drive, already has a PoE switch built in, so you can sell the ToughSwitch to help pay for it (not PoE 802.3AF compatible anyway) or you can use an old PC and start using the free Hikvision iVMS4300 PCNVR, or get BlueIris for under $40, both have smartphone apps for IOS and Android