Best CPU for Blue Iris for lowest electricity consumption?

BigKingy

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi! (newbie here so be gentle!),

Longtime lurker but finally signed up as a user.

I have been playing around with Blue Iris for a while, and now I want to sort some dedicated hardware for it. I was considering a brand new HP Mini G5 or small form factor (EliteDesk) type system with a top of the range, 10th generation i7 or i9 CPU.

But one of the major considerations for me is to try and have the lowest electricity/power usage as much as possible, as I want to attempt to try and run this rig for some of the year off a solar/battery setup. So the less wattage use the better!

Obviously I understand the considerations of how many cameras, what Megapixel they are, POE power, how Blue Iris is configured etc. all make a huge impact, but just looking at the CPU options specifically, am I better off with a top spec 10th Generation Intel i9, even though it will probably mostly be just over 10-15% CPU usage at the majority of the time? Or would a power-limited type CPU such as the Intel i7-10700T be doing the same job but with a lower watts consumption?

Or would it be better with an i5 or lower?

If the i9 only sips electricity at lower CPU usage, then having the headroom for much more CPU grunt if / when needed for any other applications would be ace!

But if it is going to end up being a little greedy (even just 5-10 watts more at idle) than another CPU then that might make a difference.

Any advice on this would be most appreciated!

Many thanks in advance.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
Have you googled/looked at processor wattage when you search for a specific processor? For example. If you google search “intel i5 8500” you’ll see a hit like this. Which gives data on wattage use. And die size etc....

holiday

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
interesting!

Are you connecting BI only or everything inc. cameras/switch / poe to solar ?