Alert Texts

jfive38

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I have been using Blue Iris for many years and I had it set up "perfect" for my situation. I manage an apartment complex and have 8 cameras set up for security reasons. I was receiving text alerts with pictures on my phone for all of the cameras up until a few days ago. I usually run though the overnight alerts before I leave for work in the morning and then test the camera settings to make sure everything is working. It worked up until a few days ago and all of the camera settings were correct and the alerts were visible in the program as usual. When I went to test the alerts to make sure they were being sent to my phone they did not show up. Gmail shows them as being sent and the "test" function shows the test as being successfully completed. I checked my cellular company and noticed they had a massive outage very early in the morning. I use US Cellular and I use Textra for my messaging program. Like I said, I have been using Blue Iris since way back and this one has me baffled since Gmail and Blue Iris both say they were successfully sent to my cellphone. I have yet to contact Textra on this issue and have setup email notices for now only on the two license plate cams because of the 500 email limit that Gmail has on free accounts. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

JR

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
It has been happening awhile with every mobile provider and there are many threads started with someone experiencing what you are.

And since you can confirm that BI and gmail sent them, you know it is a mobile provider issue.

See this thread from last month. It appears Verizon in particular is rolling out blocking these types of messages on a permanent basis.

Using the test feature, their algorithm knows you pushed a button, but for the automated alerts, they know that was computer generated and are locking those up.