AI/Deep Stack Inquiry

srvfan

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Ok, I have enjoyed my learning experience with Blue Iris. I think this is an awesome system with so many features I feel as though I will never master it.
One thing I have wondered about is integration with Deep Stack. I get a lot of false alarms on my cameras (insects or birds a lot of times), and I would like to cut down on those. It seems as though AI would be something that could assist in looking for just specific instances/threats.
I know that there is a thread about this subject, but I did not want to hijack the thread with beginner questions. I have skimmed through Wiki (and probably missed it), but is there somewhere I can find information to learn about Deep Stack? Maybe something written for a complete newb as myself?
Are there security concerns with utilizing a program such as DeepStack? I try to be as safety conscious as possible, and I’m worried that maybe facial recognition, personal vehicles, etc may be stored somewhere other than my local computer. I assume that images and videos with Blue Iris are stored only locally, and not accessible by anyone else, but a third party software brings some hesitancy on my part.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Deepstack is downloaded to your computer and ran local.

But I seem to recall you have Andy cameras?

If so, many of us have found that the AI in these cameras are really good. You simply set up BI to pull ONVIF triggers and turn BI motion detection off. I have yet to have a false alarm from my Dahua AI cams. I posted a picture in that thread of my camera AI picking up someone in a blizzard that Deepstack misses. Deepstack when in triggering mode will increase the CPU as well, so depending on your system, it may be an issue.