Worked fine - then went Direct-to-Disk and now image corruption when there is movement...

Clegg

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hey there,

So I've been using BI for a few months now with 3x Hikvision cameras (2x 4Mp, 1x 3Mp). I am running this on an HP elitebook with an intel i5-4310U CPU, 8GB of ram , and a 256GB SSD. Running Windows 10. This machine is only used for the NVR software. I am using hardware acceleration for the cameras. Running the latest intel video drivers.

I had all 3 cameras running at 1080P using the normal "encode" method of recording on the machine without issue, with a CPU usage around ~38%. I went to open up the cameras to their full resolution (4.1,4.1,3.1Mp)
upload_2017-1-4_9-29-16.png

And changed Blue Iris to direct-to-disk recording. This dropped my CPU usage from 100% with the cameras at that resolution to ~30%.

I have Blue Iris writing new alert video and such to the SSD then after a day or so spinning it off to an external USB 3 disk for archival storage.

The Hikvision setup for the 4Mp cameras are:
upload_2017-1-4_9-31-26.png
The blue iris config for the cameras are:
upload_2017-1-4_9-32-48.png

The issue is: (as an example)
When fast motion happens on camera I believe this is called "ghosting?" or its just flat out corruption:
My wife pulling in our garage last night... its all good...
upload_2017-1-4_9-33-51.png
Then:
upload_2017-1-4_9-34-17.png

And it will do that every few seconds there is motion. and completely corrupt that part of the video.

I have Windows Defender listing all BVR files, all BI Directories as exclusions... and BI.exe itself...

What am I missing here? I checked the performance logs on the machine when it is recording and the SSD itself hits a max IO usage of 10% so its not the disk overloading...

I've read around here, but cant for the life of me see anything wrong here.