Wireless Point-To-Point Solution for 1300 Feet+

Reaction score
I have been asked by a friend to come up with a solution for this problem. I imagine it will need some kind of wireless solution as running fiber is not really an option.

I have NO experience doing this, so I am asking my friends here for their learned opinions.

Need to have several IPcam feeds sent back to a Hikvision NVR. The distance is 1300 feet, more or less. There are some trees in the way, but if this is a problem, we could maybe pull some down or put-up poles to shoot over the trees. There is AC power in both locations. Obviously, they would be out in the elements here in Houston temperatures and rain.

I have seen some folks here recommend Ubiquiti nano, but I really need the exact models and a little info on how these get set up.

Thanks

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I use both the NanoStation AC LOCO NS 5acl and the Ubiquiti Networks LBE-M5-23 LiteBeam M5 units (but not together) and 1300 ft would be no problem if you can get clear line of site. I have had them working with some trees in the way. One operation where trees are blocking the signal, I have uses 3 units to form a multi point system.. I placed 1 as a station at the house, another setup as an access point at a barn and then the third unit as an station at my neighbors house to share my internet with them. On my home BI system, I have 5 cameras at the barn about 300 yds from the house, connected to a POE switch.
When shopping for any of the Ubiquiti units, make sure they come with the needed 24v passive POE injector or factor in the price of buying them separatly.
Setup is not difficult but they need to be configured on the bench before installing them in the field.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
As others above have stated, Ubiquiti is, IMO, the way to go.