Wireless Outdoor Cameras Recommendations?

eatmorfood

n3wb
Reaction score
Im an IT tech so i understand the pitfalls of wireless. I've messed with foscams in the past. With my current camera setup, once I went hikvision, I cant look back to anything less.

I've got family in another state looking to install a camera on his detached garage. I was looking for something approaching hik grade so I went for the Dahua IPC-HFW1200SN-W. Unfortunately, the camera we got is either a lemon or they all have issues. While visiting the family last week and attempting to deploy this cam, it evidently will not reconnect to the wireless network after loss of power. I have both wired & wireless IP's setup static. I set the wireless as the default. i can take the wire off the cam (leaving power) and use it wireless. but as soon as i remove the power and plug back in, it wont reconnect wirelessly. I can plug back in the rj45 and it automatically connects wirelessly just fine. It's a brand new netgear r6400 (which is a great router in my opinion) with a very standard setup. The cam also had a few other issues, when power was removed, it would not retain the ddns settings - reset back to factory and i was having trouble viewing the camera remotely. I setup under my ddns account and ported the port in the router. When i view that address locally or remote control a remote pc to test, after logging into the cam, i get "main connection failed". i didnt spend any time messing with the last error since the wireless issue was the main issue for me. I checked the forums here and didnt see any reference to this cam.

I'd rather keep the network infrastructure to a minimum (less to troubleshoot) - as in camera not wired to a wireless extender which then wirelessly connects to the main router. The main router is located on the back wall of the house and is very close to the detached garage so signal is awesome.