what else can i do to secure my network? any advice or tips

Dr Ian

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
ok, im an enthusiastic amateur!

recently had Miral malware pop up on one on my dlink cams, so got that removed and logically looking to improve network security

things I have done so far:

removed uPnp from router and everything else
made sure latest firmware in everything and more complex passwords etc
using vpn for remote viewing (built in orbi router) and then openVPN on my phone
added stunnel to blue iris computer for https lan and wan
removed all port forwarding EXCEPT the forwarding 8080 to 81 for BI machine stunnel

what else would you do?

duel lan/ nic is harder as bi is on a laptop ( and two old cams are wifi, so can't block all access)
its a pain to block cameras accessing internet totally and calling home as orbi router blocks keywords not ip addresses

so any other tips?

catcamstar

Known around here
Reaction score
Even with "wifi" cams, if you secure them in a Vlan which has absolutely no internet access at all, you are already a level higher in the security maturity scale. As long as your NIC in your laptop support vlan tagging 802.Q, it is already (virtually) serving two networks by the use of 1 physical adapter.

Nothing but good news today, right? ;-)
CC

mikeynags

Known around here
Reaction score
@Dr Ian - another easy thing to do to keep the cameras from accessing the Internet is to remove the default gateway from the camera's IP settings. This way, the camera will still communicate with Blue Iris, but not the Internet. You may also want to look into NetTime which is an NTP server you can run on your local network. Assuming you cameras maybe going out to the Internet to get their time via NTP, if you remove the default gateway IP from the cameras, you could set this up and point them locally for their NTP settings.

catcamstar

Known around here
Reaction score