Rookie needs help

Nicoleslaw

n3wb
Reaction score
so I’m a total newbie to this camera and need help. I brought it so I can watch my dogs while I’m not home, I’ve brought the Sricam ip camera. I’ve connected it to wifi and I am able to view the camera on my iPhone while connected to the wifi the same one as the camera. However if I turn my wifi on my iPhone off or go out and use my data or connect to a different wifi like my wifi at work the camera does not allow me to view it in the app and says network error. I have no idea what to do and tried to google it but no luck. Please help me

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
so I’m a total newbie to this camera and need help. I brought it so I can watch my dogs while I’m not home, I’ve brought the Sricam ip camera. I’ve connected it to wifi and I am able to view the camera on my iPhone while connected to the wifi the same one as the camera. However if I turn my wifi on my iPhone off or go out and use my data or connect to a different wifi like my wifi at work the camera does not allow me to view it in the app and says network error. I have no idea what to do and tried to google it but no luck. Please help me
Sricam is garbage. There is no secure way to do this using that camera unless you setup a vpn. if you are going to be using it to watch your pets and a single camera you are best off with a Nest cam.

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
return it while you still can, buy something better.

Aengus4h

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I don’t really care if it’s not secure, I just want to watch them on it