Red border on some video clips???

Contadino

n3wb
Joined
Jan 25, 2022
Messages
24
Reaction score
19
Location
Wisconsin
I'm getting Blue Iris set up and am experimenting with a couple of cameras. I have some video clips in the left hand pane that don't have any border. But I have a couple that have a red border. I can't delete (destroy) them. What does the red border mean and what is different about those clips than the non-border clips?
Thanks!
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
11,939
Reaction score
25,382
Location
Alabama
Do you get a popup message when you select 'yes' when asked if you want to delete the clip?
Do you have one or more cams set to record 'continuously" or 'continuously + triggered' ?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,570
Reaction score
18,347
I'm getting Blue Iris set up and am experimenting with a couple of cameras. I have some video clips in the left hand pane that don't have any border. But I have a couple that have a red border. I can't delete (destroy) them. What does the red border mean and what is different about those clips than the non-border clips?
Thanks!
clips is locked because its open and being written to. see help file
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,570
Reaction score
18,347
+1^^^.
More than likely that cam is set to record continuous or continuously + triggered so it's locked because the video file open and is being written to in real-time (as mentioned above by @fenderman ).
Note, this will occur even when the camera is set to record on trigger only, when combine and cut is used (which is the default).
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,570
Reaction score
18,347
I had a camera set to continuous earlier. I'll check if combine and cut is still on.
Thanks for your responses!
You should be using combine and cut. Its not a bad thing. You dont have to manually delete clips, blue iris will do this for you. If you disable the camera and renable it blue iris will begin a new clip and you can delete the old one.
 
Top