Received my first HIKVision 8 channel HVR and a MiniPTZ cam and an LPR cam. 4 problems: need help please.

Doug2

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
1. NVR beeps 5 times every minute and we can't turn it off or down;
2. NVR doesn't have any memory storage, do I have to add HDD? Home office small cup de sac with lo and slow traffic what sizes would cover about 30 days before it overwrites?
3. Downloaded BI v5 to my ONN android tablet and the .exe file won't execute.
I am an old reprobate lawyer with a young energetic wife; had two heart surgeries; shoulda been left in a rice paddy in Nam when age 17 Hard of hearing, poor eyesight, partly senile making my 4th attempt to install an LPR camera to secure my home office. Is there someone out there that would help an old, nearly useless Vet who still loves this Blessed country?
Doug Embrey Tulsa

Securame

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
1. NVR beeps because it does not have hard drive installed, so it is not recording.
2. You do have to add HDD if you expect to have recordings. You do not need HDD if you just want live viewing, in which case you can disable the "no HDD" error beep.
3. Blue Iris is for Windows, it will not run on any Android device.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Yep, BI needs to be ran on a windows computer. The BI app for android also will not work unless you have BI running on a computer.

Doug2

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
1. NVR beeps because it does not have hard drive installed, so it is not recording.
2. You do have to add HDD if you expect to have recordings. You do not need HDD if you just want live viewing, in which case you can disable the "no HDD" error beep.
3. Blue Iris is for Windows, it will not run on any Android device.