QSee - NVR Replacement Software (Blue Iris?)

Xigma

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie here and not extremely tech savvy.
Since my QSee Halifax 16 Ch NVR can't be viewed remotely ( the Presidio software wasn't that good anyway) since they went out of business, I'm just looking for an easy solution to get back online.
Can I simply replace the system software on the NVR with Blue Iris? If so, can you point me somewhere that may give me a step by step direction?
Since there is no keyboard, user interface etc, I have no idea what is in the guts of the NVR.
If there is some other easy way, please share. lol
Thanks,
Ken

Attachments

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
NO - Blue Iris is software that must run on a PC, it does not run on an NVR. The only software (firmware) you can run on an NVR is from the manufacturer.

But there are other options for you to still use your QSee...

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Set up a VPN, remote in and use a RDP product to view your NVR. Asus routers, and many others, have a built-in VPN that simply needs to be activated, the client needs to be installed on the phone or tablet, then you're good to go.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie here and not extremely tech savvy.
Since my QSee Halifax 16 Ch NVR can't be viewed remotely ( the Presidio software wasn't that good anyway) since they went out of business, I'm just looking for an easy solution to get back online.
Can I simply replace the system software on the NVR with Blue Iris? If so, can you point me somewhere that may give me a step by step direction?
Since there is no keyboard, user interface etc, I have no idea what is in the guts of the NVR.
If there is some other easy way, please share. lol
Thanks,
Ken
Welcome @Xigma ( Ken )

Does the NVR still work? Can you view videos while on the LAN?

If so, go with the VPN route that @sebastiantombs mentions.

Xigma

n3wb
Reaction score